India Week Logo

Zoom in to Aii’s India Week 2020!

India Week Logo

India Week is the Australia India Institute’s annual celebration of all things India. From culture and thought to politics and society, the week is packed full of activities that deepen mutual understanding and strengthen links between our two countries.

Our 2020 program is slightly different and will be held online from October 26 – 30! Browse through our list of online events below and register to join us.

Monday, October 26, 4:00 PM (AEDT) / 10:30 AM (IST)

Copy of Copy of Copy of QM Edu 5This 1-hour interactive discussion aims to provide you with insights on occupational demand, future trends and potential employment opportunities in Australia and India.

A panel of industry professionals and alumni will discuss key industry trends, skills needed in a post COVID 19 world, and the importance of having work experience and networking.

REGISTER HERE


Monday, October 26, 5:30 PM (AEDT) / 12:00 PM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 21Key speaker for this webinar include Pankaj Jha, Associate Professor, Jindal School of International Affairs, Shishir Upadhyaya, Associate Professor, Jindal School of International Affairs and David Brewster, Senior Research Fellow, National Security College, Australian National University.

REGISTER HERE


Monday, October 26, 8:00 PM (AEDT) / 2:30 PM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 18This online webinar will have Dr. Saumya Dey, Associate Professor, Jindal Global Business School and Professor (Dr.) Laknath Jayasinghe, Vice Dean, International, Jindal Global Business School as key speakers.

REGISTER NOW


Tuesday, October 27, 12:00 PM (AEDT) / 6:30 AM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 2This online yoga class is open to anyone with an interest to try yoga, from beginners to intermediate levels. The one hour free class will be run by Nupur Biswas, live from Mumbai, India! Make sure you login with comfortable clothes and space to practice. We look forward to welcoming you to the session!

REGISTER HERE


Tuesday, October 27, 4:00 PM (AEDT) / 10:30 AM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020Over the past five years India and Australia’s bilateral relations appear to be deepening. Both states agree that the future security challenges are likely to occur in the world’s oceans, and other common domains such as space. What practical steps can India and Australia take to further strengthen bilateral and regional cooperation? A live recording of La Trobe Asia’s Asia Rising podcast is part of the Australia India Institute’s ‘India Week’ via zoom.

REGISTER HERE


Tuesday, October 27, 4:30 PM (AEDT) / 11:00 AM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 4This webinar is a panel event that will feature three internationally-renowned agricultural academics to discuss the topic “Challenges and opportunities for Indian Agriculture”. It will be held during India Week @ UWA.

REGISTER HERE


Tuesday, October 27, 5:30 (AEDT) / 12:00 PM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 17This event will discuss future possibilities for collaboration between India and Australia on teacher education and RD. Dr Mousumi Mukherjee, Associate Professor and Deputy Director, IIHED, OP Jindal Global University and Dr Venesser Fernandes, Lecturer, Globalization Leadership & Policy, Monash University are key speakers.

REGISTER HERE


Tuesday, October 27, 6:00 PM (AEDT) / 12:30 PM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 5A panel of legal experts will explore different dimensions of non-state Muslim dispute processes and institutions that have found significant community usage around the world, including in India and Australia.

REGISTER HERE


Wednesday, October 28, 11:00 AM (AEDT) / 5:30 AM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 19

The Deputy High Commissioner of India to Australia, P.S. Karthigeyan, will present this webinar, chaired by the University of Melbourne’s Assistant Deputy Vice Chancellor International, Ashok Muthupandian.

India – Australia relations have evolved rapidly in the recent years. The Leader’s Virtual Summit (VLS) between the two Prime Ministers in June 2020 was a major milestone in the bilateral ties and the Comprehensive Strategic Partnership (CSP) announced at the VLS takes the relationship to new heights. The address will seek to look at the way forward in unlocking the full potential across the broad spectrum of this partnership.

REGISTER HERE


Wednesday, October 28, 4:00 PM (AEDT) / 10:30 AM (IST)

heartfulIn times of pivotal change, knowledge, applications and acquisitiveness can be brought to a halt and we are forced to examine whether our ‘business as usual’ models can be effective ways to face the uncertain future. What is valuable in the past, when examined in the light of modern insights, can offer a different, more subtle approach to such challenges. The Heartfulness Institute offers a simple experiential approach to the evolution of consciousness which is easy to follow and available to all. The application of such an approach will be discussed and demonstrated in this presentation.

REGISTER HERE


Wednesday, October 28, 7:00 PM (AEDT) / 1:30 PM (IST)
INDIA WEEK 2020 13
The Covid-19 pandemic is exacerbating this humanitarian crisis. This Question Marks Seminar Series event brings Australia’s role in assisting the South Asian region in areas of particular need. This will include discussion of how governments and not-for-profits agencies within South Asia are active in the humanitarian space as well as the politics of international humanitarian intervention.

Wednesday, October 28, 8:30 PM (AEDT) 3:00 PM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 20In July 2020, the Centre for Historic Houses introduced a lecture series featuring Indian palaces and their owners entitled “Resilience: Historic Houses of India and their Custodians.” It brought out how these palaces are more than just historic sites and that their owners are more than custodians. They have played a vital role in the perception of the local and the global and have contributed to society at large. The impact of Indian palaces is noticeable in many areas from cuisine, to education, patronage of the arts, indigenous animals’ breeds, tourism, entrepreneurship and humanitarian causes.

In this webinar the lesser known history of how Indian Royal families contributed to society is explored – using historic houses as the focal point of narrative.

REGISTER HERE


Thursday, October 29, 10:30 AM (AEDT) / 5:00 AM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 12The University of Western Australia is pleased to host the launch of its Australia India Institute Honorary Research Fellows Network during India Week 2020. Please note this event is by invitation only.


Thursday, October 29, 5:00 PM (AEDT) / 11:30 AM (IST)

Copy of Copy of Copy of QM Edu 4India has a long and unique history with a rich cultural heritage, but in the modern race for progress it can be difficult to conserve the past. The panel will discuss how can India preserve its heritage while pursuing a ‘smart-city’ agenda, who holds the responsibility for maintaining and preserving these sites and how does heritage status affect the local individuals and communities.

REGISTER HERE


Thursday, October 29, 8:00 PM (AEDT) / 2:30 PM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 7Tune into this live event with Dr Parul Bhandari and Professor Tejpavan Gandhok on Colorism and Class in Indian Matchmaking.

REGISTER HERE


Friday, October 30, 5:00 PM (AEDT) / 11:30 AM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 6Oration: Aii@Delhi’s Annual Oration 2020 with Ms Suhasini Haidar, National Editor and Diplomatic Affairs Editor, The Hindu.

REGISTER HERE


The Indian Film Festival of Melbourne: October 23 – 30, 2020
INDIA WEEK 2020 9
The Indian Film Festival Melbourne will host its 2020 event online, screening over 60 free to watch films in 17 languages, including 34 international Premieres and 56 Australian Premieres. IFFM Festival Director, Mitu Bhowmick Lange: “Film is a powerful way to bring people together be they sitting in a packed cinema or in 2020, in their own homes. Indian filmmakers – from independent short film makers to our most powerful directors – turn their gaze to issues of freedom and equality in the contemporary world and celebrate the diversity that defines us all.”

Exhibition: Accessible till June 2021

INDIA WEEK 2020 8Expressions of India brings together a small collection of Indian paintings from the Ronald and Catherine Berndt Bequest Collection. The featured paintings belong to an extensive collection of over 950 examples of cultural material from across Asia, assembled by the Berndt’s throughout their career as internationally renowned anthropologists. Lovingly cared for and displayed in their sprawling Peppermint Grove residence, this collection was essentially hidden from the outside world until bequeathed to the Berndt Museum following Catherine’s passing in 1994.

TAKE A TOUR

Indian Week 2020 Partners 3