India Week Logo

Zoom in to India Week 2020

India Week Logo

India Week is the Australia India Institute’s annual celebration of all things India. From culture and thought to politics and society, the week is packed full of activities that deepen mutual understanding and strengthen links between our two countries.

Our 2020 program was slightly different and was held online from October 26 – 30! Scroll through to watch recorded sessions.

Monday, October 26, 4:00 PM (AEDT) / 10:30 AM (IST)

Copy of Copy of Copy of QM Edu 5This 1-hour interactive discussion aimed to provide insights on occupational demand, future trends and potential employment opportunities in Australia and India.

A panel of industry professionals and alumni discussed key industry trends, skills needed in a post-COVID 19 world, and the importance of having work experience and networking.


Monday, October 26, 5:30 PM (AEDT) / 12:00 PM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 21Key speakers for this webinar were Pankaj Jha, Associate Professor, Jindal School of International Affairs, Shishir Upadhyaya, Associate Professor, Jindal School of International Affairs and David Brewster, Senior Research Fellow, National Security College, Australian National University.

WATCH HERE


Monday, October 26, 8:00 PM (AEDT) / 2:30 PM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 18This online webinar had Dr Saumya Dey, Associate Professor, Jindal Global Business School and Professor (Dr.) Laknath Jayasinghe, Vice Dean, International, Jindal Global Business School as key speakers.

WATCH HERE


Tuesday, October 27, 12:00 PM (AEDT) / 6:30 AM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 2This online yoga class was open to anyone with an interest to try yoga, from beginners to intermediate levels. The one-hour free class was run by Nupur Biswas, live from Mumbai, India!

WATCH HERE


Tuesday, October 27, 4:00 PM (AEDT) / 10:30 AM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020Over the past five years, India and Australia’s bilateral relations appear to be deepening. Both states agree that future security challenges are likely to occur in the world’s oceans and other common domains such as space. What practical steps can India and Australia take to further strengthen bilateral and regional cooperation? A live recording of La Trobe Asia’s Asia Rising podcast was part of the Australia India Institute’s ‘India Week’ via zoom.

LISTEN HERE


Tuesday, October 27, 4:30 PM (AEDT) / 11:00 AM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 4This webinar was a panel event that featured three internationally-renowned agricultural academics to discuss the topic “Challenges and opportunities for Indian Agriculture”.

WATCH HERE


Tuesday, October 27, 5:30 (AEDT) / 12:00 PM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 17This event discussed future possibilities for collaboration between India and Australia on teacher education and RD. Dr Mousumi Mukherjee, Associate Professor and Deputy Director, IIHED, OP Jindal Global University and Dr Venesser Fernandes, Lecturer, Globalization Leadership & Policy, Monash University were key speakers.

WATCH HERE


Tuesday, October 27, 6:00 PM (AEDT) / 12:30 PM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 5A panel of legal experts explored different dimensions of non-state Muslim dispute processes and institutions that have found significant community usage around the world, including in India and Australia.


Tuesday, October 27, 6:00 PM (AEDT) / 12:30 PM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 25As part of the Cybersecurity Awareness Month and the India-Australia Cybersecurity Week, Australia India Institute Delhi in collaboration with C-DEP held a panel on ‘Cyber Threats, Cyber Opportunity & Indian Leadership as a Global Provider of Cybersecurity’.

WATCH HERE


Wednesday, October 28, 4:00 PM (AEDT) / 10:30 AM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 26In times of pivotal change, knowledge, applications and acquisitiveness can be brought to a halt and we are forced to examine whether our ‘business as usual’ models can be effective ways to face the uncertain future. What is valuable in the past, when examined in the light of modern insights, can offer a different, more subtle approach to such challenges. The Heartfulness Institute offers a simple experiential approach to the evolution of consciousness which is easy to follow and available to all. The application of such an approach was discussed and demonstrated in this presentation.

WATCH HERE


Wednesday, October 28, 7:00 PM (AEDT) / 1:30 PM (IST)
INDIA WEEK 2020 13
The Covid-19 pandemic is exacerbating this humanitarian crisis. This Question Marks Seminar Series event brought Australia’s role in assisting the South Asian region in areas of particular need. This included discussion of how governments and not-for-profits agencies within South Asia are active in the humanitarian space as well as the politics of international humanitarian intervention.

Wednesday, October 28, 8:30 PM (AEDT) 3:00 PM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 20In July 2020, the Centre for Historic Houses introduced a lecture series featuring Indian palaces and their owners entitled “Resilience: Historic Houses of India and their Custodians.” It brought out how these palaces are more than just historic sites and that their owners are more than custodians. They have played a vital role in the perception of the local and the global and have contributed to society at large. The impact of Indian palaces is noticeable in many areas from cuisine, to education, patronage of the arts, indigenous animals’ breeds, tourism, entrepreneurship and humanitarian causes.

In this webinar, the lesser-known history of how Indian Royal families contributed to society was explored – using historic houses as the focal point of the narrative.

WATCH HERE


Thursday, October 29, 10:30 AM (AEDT) / 5:00 AM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 12The University of Western Australia is pleased to have hosted the launch of its Australia India Institute Honorary Research Fellows Network during India Week 2020. Please note this event was by invitation only.


Thursday, October 29, 6:30 PM (AEDT) / 3:30 PM (AWST) / 1:00 PM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 24As part of UWA’s India Week program, all staff, students, and members of the community were invited to attend an accessible yoga class on the beautiful lawn between Winthrop Hall and the Tropical Grove.

WATCH HERE


Thursday, October 29, 5:00 PM (AEDT) / 11:30 AM (IST)

Copy of Copy of Copy of QM Edu 4India has a long and unique history with a rich cultural heritage, but in the modern race for progress, it can be difficult to conserve the past. The panel discussed how can India preserve its heritage while pursuing a ‘smart-city’ agenda, who holds the responsibility for maintaining and preserving these sites and how does heritage status affect the local individuals and communities.

WATCH HERE


Thursday, October 29, 8:00 PM (AEDT) / 2:30 PM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 7

Watch this webinar with Dr Parul Bhandari and Professor Tejpavan Gandhok on Colorism and Class in Indian Matchmaking.

WATCH HERE


Friday, October 30, 5:00 PM (AEDT) / 11:30 AM (IST)

INDIA WEEK 2020 6Oration: Aii@Delhi’s Annual Oration 2020 with Ms Suhasini Haidar, National Editor and Diplomatic Affairs Editor, The Hindu.

WATCH HERE


The Indian Film Festival of Melbourne: October 23 – 30, 2020
INDIA WEEK 2020 9
The Indian Film Festival Melbourne hosted its 2020 event online, screening over 60 free to watch films in 17 languages, including 34 international Premieres and 56 Australian Premieres. IFFM Festival Director, Mitu Bhowmick Lange: “Film is a powerful way to bring people together be they sitting in a packed cinema or in 2020, in their own homes. Indian filmmakers – from independent short filmmakers to our most powerful directors – turn their gaze to issues of freedom and equality in the contemporary world and celebrate the diversity that defines us all.”

Exhibition: Accessible till June 2021

INDIA WEEK 2020 8Expressions of India brings together a small collection of Indian paintings from the Ronald and Catherine Berndt Bequest Collection. The featured paintings belong to an extensive collection of over 950 examples of cultural material from across Asia, assembled by the Berndt’s throughout their career as internationally renowned anthropologists. Lovingly cared for and displayed in their sprawling Peppermint Grove residence, this collection was essentially hidden from the outside world until bequeathed to the Berndt Museum following Catherine’s passing in 1994.

TAKE A TOUR

Indian Week 2020 Partners 4